School of Pharmacy and Health Science (SPHS) welcomes new Dean and inaugurates new departments

The team from SPHS during the inauguration of their new Dean, Prof. Ndemo, who replaces Prof. Njeri Wamae.
By Dr. Ermias Terefe
The Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic and Student affairs, Prof. Ruthie Rono, formally inaugurated the new Dean of the School of Pharmacy and Health Science, Prof. Ndemo, in a ceremony that was held at the Science Centre. In addition to formally introducing Prof. Ndemo, the DVC-ASA also announced the creation of new departments within the school, as well as the new chairs of departments namely: Dr. Betty Mbatia- Chair, department of Pre-Clinical studies, Dr. Ermias Terefe- Chair, department of Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy, Dr. Calvin Omolo- Chair, department of Pharmaceutics and Pharmacy practice.

Speaking during the ceremony, the outgoing Dean, Prof. Njeri Wamae thanked the staff at SPHS for their hard work, a sentiment echoed by the former Chair of Department, Dr. Munyendo, who applauded the members of SPHS and encouraged the new chairs to work in hard for the success of the school.

On his end, Prof Ndemo highlighted that he has a vision to start Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm. D) program in USIU-Africa. He holds a Bachelor of Science in pharmacy degree from Leicester School of Pharmacy, De Montfort University, UK, a Doctor of Pharmacy degree and a Post-doctoral fellowship in Clinical Pharmacokinetics from the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, USA. He has held a number of academic positions including Associate Professor at University of Nairobi, Creighton University and Hampton University in the United States of America. He is a recipient of a number awards including, Fulbright Fellowship, British Technical Aids Award, the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists(ASHP) research award, 2015

Academic Excellence Faculty Award and 2013 Internal Preceptor Award of Hampton University School of Pharmacy. Additionally, he has held administrative positions including Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice at the University, President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Kenya and currently serves as Chairman of Training and Assessment Technical Committee, Pharmacy and Poisons Board of Kenya.
The SPHS family wishes the new Dean all the best.

Social Media