New student Electoral Commissioners office bearers sworn-in

By Uwimana Oscar & Nderi Marcia
On February 20, 2023, the new student Electoral Commissioners were sworn in to office in presence of the Director, Legal Services Ms. Hellen P. Ombima, Mr. Chris Ayuoyi, the incoming Electoral Commission secretary Ms. Jane Nyaga and outgoing Electoral Commissioner Uwimana Oscar in the VC boardroom at exactly 12:45 PM. The event comes after a process led by the Student Affairs Department where interested students sent in CVs and were scrutinized and progressed to the interview process.

The interviews were then conducted on Monday, February 20, 2023 at the Student Council boardroom. The panelists were Uwimana Oscar (outgoing Electoral Commissioner), Mr. Chris Ayuoyi (Senior Clubs Coordinator) and Anold Nyato (International Students’ Representative, Student Council).

In her remarks Ms. Hellen urged the commissioners to uphold the University’s rules and guidelines since this is a sensitive office that requires integrity to serve the student association. Uwimana Oscar in his remarks stated that: “On behalf outgoing Electoral Commissioners, I would like to thank the Student Affairs Department and the University at large for making our duty smooth as we conducted last year’s elections. This has been a great learning experience for us. We wish the very best to the new student Electoral Commissioners as they take over the mantle. Thank you.”

Social Media