African Excellence Awards Cape Town award 7
Chief Manager - Marketing & Communications Ms. Jane Muriithi-Thomas, receives the African Excellence Award in Science and Education from a member of the jury panel Mr. Kevin Welman during the first African edition of the awards ceremony held on 21 April 2016 at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront in Cape Town, South Africa.

For the second year in a row, USIU-Africa has won the premier African public relations and communications award - the
African Excellence Awards. USIU-Africa's "Our Land Our Future" campaign to manage the university's reputation and educate stakeholders on land grabbing issues, was named the top Crisis Communication campaign in the entire continent. Last year, the university's "Experience USIU-Africa" campaign won in the Science and Education category  during the inaugural African Excellence Awards held in South Africa in April 2016.

An additional honor for the university, was the appointment of Ms. Jane Muriithi-Thomas (Chief Manager - Marketing & Communications) as a member of the jury panel. The honor which recognized her professional expertise and wide experience in public relations and communications, is a positive reflection of the excellence for which USIU-Africa is known, and - along with the Award - places the university's marketing and communications unit at par with global public relations and communications firms.

This year's award show will be held on Thursday, 29 June 2017 in Johannesburg, South Africa, where USIU-Africa and winners in 25 other categories spanning the public relations and communications landscape, will formally receive their Awards.

The awards are hosted by Communication Director - an internationally-focused magazine for corporate communications, public relations and public affairs - which has been celebrating the achievements of communication professionals for the past ten years in Europe. Since 2016, the magazine has hosted the continental award shows in Asia-Pacific, Latin America, Africa and North America, as well as Europe